Peter Canisius House
Canisius College 

History

Prior to 2012 Peter Canisius House was known as Canisius College and until 2011 it was a centre of formation and training for Jesuit priests and brothers.

Canisius College was built in 1938 on thirty-seven acres of elevated farming land in the suburb of Pymble, Sydney, as the Theologate for the Australian Province of the Society of Jesus. The property was thought to be suitable as it was a picturesque piece of land over one mile from the Pymble Station. Across Mona Vale Road was the Dalrymple Park, sloping down towards Middle Harbour which fed into the Sydney Harbour. From Pymble Soldiers Memorial Park, across Mona Vale Road, we can still see the city of Sydney laid out. At the rear of the property there was an orchard and a farm where cows could be kept. Over the years much milk was supplied by the cows living on the property.

During those years many theologians studied here before their ordinations. As a Theologate it closed in 1968, when the students and professors moved to Melbourne to establish the Jesuit Theological College in the suburb of Parkville. After a few years the place became the Noviceship of the Australian Province. Then the Tertianship was added; within a few years later The Ignatian Centre of Spirituality also was given a home here.

 

Article in Catholic Freemans Journal 1941

Click here to view article from 1941

 

The House

Location

History

Staff

Facilities

Bedrooms

Meals

Activities

© 2016 Peter Canisius House

102 Mona Vale Road
Pymble NSW 2073 Australia
Phone: (02) 9488 4524


Useful Links

•   Centre of Ignatian Spirituality
•   Australian Jesuits
 

SITE MAP